Discover the Old Court Room including the dock as it was used until 1886, with the prison cells, exercise yard & Tudor window on the ground floor below.
There has been a court house and gaol in Pevensey since Tudor times, although the origin of this building is uncertain. It also came to serve as the town hall.
The timber ceiling is mainly 17th century. The entrance porch, exercise yard and prison cells, including the adjacent robing room, were added circa 1830.
The court furniture including the dock remain in place as they were last used in 1886, when the Corporation ceased to exist.